From Bad To Worse

I’m often bemused and confused by the left’s focus on the so-called “eeevilll corporations”

Corporations cannot force me to buy their products, use their services or give them my money. I am not forced to make deposits in gargantuan banks.

I only buy stuff that I want to buy, from the people that I choose to buy it. My husband and I are not big consumers, we like old stuff – so we’re far more likely to shop the local antique store, or even more likely – “tag sale” (Martha uses that lingo, which sounds much better than “garage sale”)

We shop local grocery stores, sometimes even direct from the farm, and we do our banking at the local credit union, long before “Occupy” told us to.

The government, however, takes my money by force – straight from my paycheck, without even a how do you do. It takes my money when I go to the grocery store, or buy anything, anywhere. It takes an extra chunk of change when I fill up on gas. In my state something like sixty cents of every gallon I pump is tax. When I pay my electric bill, and my phone bill, there is the government sticking it’s bony little fingers in, and taking it’s cut. And I even get to pay the government for the privilege of living in my own home.

The average American (that’s me :)) pays 40 – 50% of their income in taxes of one kind and another. Is that really the government we fought for? Is this really the American dream? To toil away for half of our lives to fund an ever growing and ever more intrusive government machine? Who can really get ahead with that kind of government monkey on our backs?

So you’ll forgive me if I can’t muster up any indignation for Wal Mart. You’ll have to excuse me if I don’t feel oppressed by Wall Street. I just don’t see it. Some of the rich get richer largely by gaming the system, for sure. But the government games the system far worse, and giving them more money and more power is hardly a solution. Letting banks and businesses (and individuals) fail when they screw up is. Taking money and power away from government and giving it back to the people is.

They act as if government and corporations aren’t on the same side. As if it Godzilla vs. Mothra – well wake up people – they’re both destroying Tokyo!

For those of you who think the government is going to save you from the big, bad, boys in the 1%, I have news for you. The government isn’t your friend, your nanny, or your rich old uncle. It doesn’t have a conscience and it doesn’t “care.” It’s a machine. A machine that burns money and creates corruption. Necessary, yes. Able to do some good, yes. But as I said last week, dangerous – always seeking to escape the boundaries created for it, at a cost that most Americans can hardly imagine.


2 responses to “From Bad To Worse

  • UsneakydevilU

    Nothing makes sense with these people who believe government is their friend. These same types preached for the government to leave them alone in the 1960’s youth movements, now they’re saying “save us”. These people are certifiable lunatics, nothing makes since and I’m amazed that anyone listens to their crazy ideas. But hey, like I said before, liberalism is the antichrist, it sneaks in and kills the soul.

  • averageamericanblogger

    Eaxctly. If they knew what they wanted, they wouldn’t want it! :)

Let me know what YOU think

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

